Ernest Mlynarczyk was a Supervisor for Sears Pool Management in 2006 and was promoted to Area Manager in 2007.  Tragically, Earnest passed away in a motorcycle accident on Christmas day 2007.  The Ernest Mlynarczyk Leadership Award has been designed to honor his memory by recognizing the individual achievements of our staff.

The “Ernest” award is presented annually to the SPMC employee who best exemplifies the characteristics and qualities that made Ernest so special.  The recipient is nominated by his/her peers and management team at SPMC. This person demonstrates excellent leadership, communication and customer service skills.  He/she is professional and flexible, willing to go above and beyond, and shows respect for others.  This individual is committed to the job through the creation of new and useful ideas while showing attention to detail in all that he/she does.

These characteristics of Ernest represent what we can strive for in our daily lives.

The recipient of the “Ernest” award receives and place with their name engraved as well as a monetary reward.  The recipient’s name is also engraved on a larger plaque that is displayed in our main office.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

Craig Sears presents the “Ernest Award” to Mark Johnson

The 2018 Earnest Mlynarczyk was awarded to Mark Johnson.  Mark joined SPMC in February 2018.  A few comments from our staff about his work ethic included:

  • The new kid on the block hit the ground running!  He had a few hiccups to start the season but never gave up.  He often came in on Sundays to make sure his pools were running smoothly.  He made sure to communicate with the lifeguards at his pools and always took their calls to answer any questions they had.  He communicated promptly and effectively with his customers. 
  • The best newbie we’ve ever had! The guy who started with zero pool experience and finished stronger than most of the old guys. He’s good with customers, fantastic team player, excellent supervisor to his helper…
  • I’m really glad we have MJ in our team.



  • 2018 – Mark Johnson
  • 2017 – Barbara Rion
  • 2016 – Bojan Sijakovic
  • 2015 – Bojan Sijakovic
  • 2014 – Igor Veselinovic
  • 2013 – Miroslav Radev
  • 2012 – Lazar Miljkovic
  • 2011 – Darren Merritt
  • 2010 – Igor Veselinovic
  • 2009 – Josh Fletcher
  • 2008 – Josh Fletcher